Reviews

7.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.5
Property location
6.5
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.8
Value
7.0

Reviews

    Winifred Dennis
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    16 April 2018

    Good meals. Friendly staff. A bit out of town and a little tired.

    The inn is a bit dated and could use refreshing. Paint on wall of our room was missing in places. It was difficult to communicate with staff if you don't speak Japanese. The inn is not near the main tourist areas - you need to take a shuttle bus to town. Overall the inn is very clean but a bit worn. But it was the most expensive night of our 2+ weeks in Japan. Other places were much nicer and better value. We did stay during the Spring Festival. At other times, the inn may be good value.
    Dinner and breakfast were both very good. Staff was friendly. Room was very clean. The inn provided a shuttle bus back to the JR station in town.
    Neeraj
    ke

    Review score

    3.3
    4 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    3 April 2018
    Authentic, traditional ryokan. Excellent traditional breakfast. Good rural hospitality from friendly staff.
    Pakypaka
    th

    Review score

    8.8
    26 January 2018

    Clean, nice ryokan

    First, I never got any reply from the owner but not surprising since she can't speak English. When I first arrived, I wasn't sure if I was at the right place, the hotel sign was soooooo tiny but the ryokan owner wrote my name on a wooden board in front of the door so I was confident that I arrived at the correct place. Check-in, waiting for 20 minutes, can't see anyone at all. We walked around, tried to make some noise, calling out people, no bell to ring, no people so I decided to call. The call was diverted and the landlady picked up the call then greeted us. We were tired and just wanted to check-in, the landlady insisted that we pay before (cash only, no credit card accepted) and she took time to calculate everything. The price was different than what I booked so I showed her my booking, she re-calculated and eventually agreed on the price on booking.com. However please do aware that there's an onsen tax (150 yen/person/night) so we ended up paid a bit more. She then noticed that we have a baby (1 year 10 months) with us so asked for 1,000 yen extra charge per night. This is actually the first place that asked us to pay for a baby who is not even 2 years old and did not require any additional towel, mattress, or breakfast. I'm disappointed with how nitpicking she was with everything. There were 2 shared bathrooms, one for men and another for women. They switched on the 2nd night so I tried both. The first one was soooo small. 3 people seems to be a max capacity to have without feeling too awkward. Onsen was super hot too while another bathroom I tried on the 2nd night is more spacious however onsen water is not that hot. Overall it was a good stay. Besides from the check-in incident and additional charge, there's nothing to complain.
    It looks much nicer than the pictures shown on Booking.com. The ryokan was nice and clean. The location is good to get into express way. Around 200 meters from the ryokan, there's a lawson shop (convenience store) and a gas station nearby. The location is quite good, not too far from the city center. The landlady was sweet when we left she gave a delicious apple to everyone.
    Christine
    hk

    Review score

    4.2
    2 January 2018

    Good food but cold room in a cold winter zone

    The room is very cold and onsen very small and not very clean. Also I didn’t realise this hotel is not accepting credit card but price for 1 room is 66000yen. At this price most hotels in Japan accept credit cards. However they are understanding and allow me to remit payment to them later. It is very strange as Booking.com took my credit card as guarantee for such an expensive room booking !
    Good food like grandma cooking
    jimmy Sew
    mu

    Review score

    8.8
    27 November 2017

    we like the warmth of our host. this counts for us. Moreover when we arrived we met with a nice taxi

    not really but we had to walk a while before reaching the market . however it was fun wandering around along the minor streets until we finally reached the market
    calm and cosy ryokan
    Peter
    au

    Review score

    5.0
    5 November 2017
    Room was on top floor and no lift. Bathrooms were on the ground floor. Ryokan slippers were one size and too small for my very average size feet. Distance from town and station. Shuttle bus timing was relatively inflexible and suited Ryokan's needs rather than its customers needs. These negatives need to be seen in the context of the high price they charge, relative to other Ryokans in Japan that are superior all aspects for half the price
    The room was comfortable, air conditioned with a fridge and a toilet
    Kim
    jp

    Review score

    7.5
    5 November 2017

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    More explanation about the menu and pick up availability at the train station.
    Room and comfy futons. It is great for foreign travelers!
    Sally
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    5 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yoram
    il

    Review score

    8.8
    4 November 2017
    The price is quite hi
    Traditional Riokan in a beautiful neighborhood especially in the autumn. We did not eat at the Riokan as there r many restaurants in the city.
    jeffrey
    il

    Review score

    7.1
    4 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Florence Lawson
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    2 November 2017
    Almost no English spoken. No lift and steep stairs. A long walk from the station and main centre.
    Very warm welcome. Excellent traditional evening meal. Given special local apples as we left
    HAPPY
    hk

    Review score

    5.4
    28 October 2017
    Location is far from Takayama JR station, difficult to get taxi back to hotel at night. Onsen is small, it looks like hostel more than hotel
    Breakfast & dinner is good
    au

    Review score

    4.2
    14 October 2017

    Bad value for money, but clean and reasonable service and food.

    Impossibly tiny private toilet, couldn't turn around, knees hitting the wall when sitting. Very expensive for the small room and out-dated facilities.
    The staff tried to make us feel comfortable. Clean room.
    Lukey D
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    12 October 2017

    Great stay, fantastic staff.

    The pillows are a little tough.
    The hotel is cosy and close to the inner city. It has a scenic walk towards the inner city, however they offer a free shuttle bus everyday go inner city and secondly the station.
    Malgorzata
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    9 October 2017

    fantastic traditional ryokan - much recommended:)

    The ryokan is about 20 minutes walk from the town centre, 30 minutes from the train station. I found the way not very straightforward but I am quite bad at directions. I took a taxi (1200 yen) from the station to the ryokan.
    It was my first stay in the traditional ryokan and I loved the whole experience: leaving my shoes in the hallway, tatami mats in the room, sleeping on the comfortable futon and the traditional low table and chair. The public bath is fantastic and so relaxing after the long day of sightseeing. You can choose beautiful colourful yukata to wear:))) The breakfast and dinner is delicious and a feast for the eye as well (specially recommending very tasty hida beef). All staff is very friendly and I had no problems with communication despite not speaking Japanese. The place is very clean. You can borrow a bicycle free of charge. There is a shuttle to the town in the morning. Great place for experiencing traditional Japanese inn!
    Sébastien
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    17 August 2017

    Very clean and convenient room, but far from the city centre and train station

    The price was a bit too high for that kind of room. Also, unless you have your own wheels, it is too far (about 3 km) from Takayama train station to walk, and also far from principal town interests (restaurants, temples and other sights).
    The ryokan-style room was spacy, clean, and convenient, and even had A/C. The hotel owners were very charming and considerate, and visibly tried all they could to please us, despite the fact that they didn't speak English.
    Wongsiri
    th

    Review score

    9.2
    16 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pak Srisatayakul
    th

    Review score

    10
    20 November 2017

    Excellent

    I have a very warm welcome from the owner. Very appreciated. I will come back here again.
    Lindsay
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    12 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews