This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

7.5 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.5
Property location
6.5
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.9
Value
7.0
Reviews
    Pakypaka
    th
    8.8
    26 January 2018
    Clean, nice ryokan
    First, I never got any reply from the owner but not surprising since she can't speak English. When I first arrived, I wasn't sure if I was at the right place, the hotel sign was soooooo tiny but the ryokan owner wrote my name on a wooden board in front of the door so I was confident that I arrived at the correct place. Check-in, waiting for 20 minutes, can't see anyone at all. We walked around, tried to make some noise, calling out people, no bell to ring, no people so I decided to call. The call was diverted and the landlady picked up the call then greeted us. We were tired and just wanted to check-in, the landlady insisted that we pay before (cash only, no credit card accepted) and she took time to calculate everything. The price was different than what I booked so I showed her my booking, she re-calculated and eventually agreed on the price on booking.com. However please do aware that there's an onsen tax (150 yen/person/night) so we ended up paid a bit more. She then noticed that we have a baby (1 year 10 months) with us so asked for 1,000 yen extra charge per night. This is actually the first place that asked us to pay for a baby who is not even 2 years old and did not require any additional towel, mattress, or breakfast. I'm disappointed with how nitpicking she was with everything. There were 2 shared bathrooms, one for men and another for women. They switched on the 2nd night so I tried both. The first one was soooo small. 3 people seems to be a max capacity to have without feeling too awkward. Onsen was super hot too while another bathroom I tried on the 2nd night is more spacious however onsen water is not that hot. Overall it was a good stay. Besides from the check-in incident and additional charge, there's nothing to complain.
    It looks much nicer than the pictures shown on Booking.com. The ryokan was nice and clean. The location is good to get into express way. Around 200 meters from the ryokan, there's a lawson shop (convenience store) and a gas station nearby. The location is quite good, not too far from the city center. The landlady was sweet when we left she gave a delicious apple to everyone.
    Christine
    hk
    4.2
    2 January 2018
    Good food but cold room in a cold winter zone
    The room is very cold and onsen very small and not very clean. Also I didn’t realise this hotel is not accepting credit card but price for 1 room is 66000yen. At this price most hotels in Japan accept credit cards. However they are understanding and allow me to remit payment to them later. It is very strange as Booking.com took my credit card as guarantee for such an expensive room booking !
    Good food like grandma cooking
    jimmy Sew
    mu
    8.8
    27 November 2017
    we like the warmth of our host. this counts for us. Moreover when we arrived we met with a nice taxi
    not really but we had to walk a while before reaching the market . however it was fun wandering around along the minor streets until we finally reached the market
    calm and cosy ryokan
    Peter
    au
    5.0
    5 November 2017
    Room was on top floor and no lift. Bathrooms were on the ground floor. Ryokan slippers were one size and too small for my very average size feet. Distance from town and station. Shuttle bus timing was relatively inflexible and suited Ryokan's needs rather than its customers needs. These negatives need to be seen in the context of the high price they charge, relative to other Ryokans in Japan that are superior all aspects for half the price
    The room was comfortable, air conditioned with a fridge and a toilet
    Kim
    jp
    7.5
    5 November 2017
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    More explanation about the menu and pick up availability at the train station.
    Room and comfy futons. It is great for foreign travelers!
    Sally
    au
    8.3
    5 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yoram
    il
    8.8
    4 November 2017
    The price is quite hi
    Traditional Riokan in a beautiful neighborhood especially in the autumn. We did not eat at the Riokan as there r many restaurants in the city.
    jeffrey
    il
    7.1
    4 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Florence Lawson
    gb
    8.3
    2 November 2017
    Almost no English spoken. No lift and steep stairs. A long walk from the station and main centre.
    Very warm welcome. Excellent traditional evening meal. Given special local apples as we left
    HAPPY
    hk
    5.4
    28 October 2017
    Location is far from Takayama JR station, difficult to get taxi back to hotel at night. Onsen is small, it looks like hostel more than hotel
    Breakfast & dinner is good
    au
    4.2
    14 October 2017
    Bad value for money, but clean and reasonable service and food.
    Impossibly tiny private toilet, couldn't turn around, knees hitting the wall when sitting. Very expensive for the small room and out-dated facilities.
    The staff tried to make us feel comfortable. Clean room.
    Lukey D
    au
    9.6
    12 October 2017
    Great stay, fantastic staff.
    The pillows are a little tough.
    The hotel is cosy and close to the inner city. It has a scenic walk towards the inner city, however they offer a free shuttle bus everyday go inner city and secondly the station.
    Malgorzata
    gb
    9.2
    10 October 2017
    fantastic traditional ryokan - much recommended:)
    The ryokan is about 20 minutes walk from the town centre, 30 minutes from the train station. I found the way not very straightforward but I am quite bad at directions. I took a taxi (1200 yen) from the station to the ryokan.
    It was my first stay in the traditional ryokan and I loved the whole experience: leaving my shoes in the hallway, tatami mats in the room, sleeping on the comfortable futon and the traditional low table and chair. The public bath is fantastic and so relaxing after the long day of sightseeing. You can choose beautiful colourful yukata to wear:))) The breakfast and dinner is delicious and a feast for the eye as well (specially recommending very tasty hida beef). All staff is very friendly and I had no problems with communication despite not speaking Japanese. The place is very clean. You can borrow a bicycle free of charge. There is a shuttle to the town in the morning. Great place for experiencing traditional Japanese inn!
    Sébastien
    ca
    8.3
    17 August 2017
    Very clean and convenient room, but far from the city centre and train station
    The price was a bit too high for that kind of room. Also, unless you have your own wheels, it is too far (about 3 km) from Takayama train station to walk, and also far from principal town interests (restaurants, temples and other sights).
    The ryokan-style room was spacy, clean, and convenient, and even had A/C. The hotel owners were very charming and considerate, and visibly tried all they could to please us, despite the fact that they didn't speak English.
    Martine
    fr
    9.6
    30 July 2017
    A very comfortable and nice experience
    A bit far from the railway station though the route is easy and very nice, moreover the hostess provided a free shuttle to bring us back to the station when we left.
    The warm welcome, the very nice room, the Bath, the Japanese breakfast experience
    George
    us
    8.8
    18 July 2017
    Typical Japanese Inn in Takayama
    Just be aware that payment is expected only in Japanese Yen. They do not accept credit or debit cards. Also the offerings included in the lodging price were not spelled out in the website through booking.com which led to confusion such as for a 2-night stay, breakfast is not included on the day of checkout so we got only 1 breakfast, perhaps the norm for Japanese inns?
    Having a nice soak in a traditional Japanese bath at the end of a long day of sightseeing! 😊
    Natassja
    jp
    7.9
    18 July 2017
    Nice and cozy and lovely staff!
    The room was a tiny bit small and we were in the older part of the building which is made of wood so it was a bit noisy. No blinds so if you're used to sleep in the complete darkness I suggest you bring an eye mask.
    The staff was super nice and helpful, they even drove us to the station on our last day outside of the regular shuttle bus runs that they do everyday. The area is nice and quiet and you can go for walks in the Japanese countryside. The bath is a bit small but cozy. The breakfast was Japanese style and very filling, every morning the staff calls everyone for breakfast through a loud speaker.
    Alexander
    ca
    10
    1 May 2017
    Unprecedent levels of hospitality
    The owner was extremely kind and hospitable, going way above and beyond any other staff at other hotels I've stayed in. The beds were very comfortable, the room spacious and the breakfast next morning was incredible. An amazing experience here!
    John
    gb
    9.6
    26 April 2017
    A wonderful welcome from this lovely Japanese family Ryokan.
    Not really a problem but good half hours walk from station, or about 1100 yen by taxi was easiest & not that easy too find.
    Delightful family run smallish Ryokan a little out of main centre. A great experience of a Ryokan with nice Onsen. Booking dinner & breakfast was a real treat to try real Japanese cuisine, but not every Western person might like! Free bike hire a good bonus & the Hida Village & other local attractions easy to get to by bike.
    Nigel
    gb
    8.3
    23 April 2017
    Nice Ryokan and friendly people
    Very helpful staff. Nice traditional Ryokan rooms and good Japanese breakfast.
Loading reviews
Close